Shows that I’m excited about – Opening in OCTOBER 2017 (London)

THEATRE / LONDON

I’m not sure yet if this is going to be the name of this section but… for now I’m going to leave it like that at least for now. As I said on my previous post, I’m going to try to be here more often. Sometimes I can’t attend as many shows as I’d like (job issues), but I’m going to write also about shows I’d love to see (like now) or other stuff I find interesting. It could also be films or other events such as gigs. The idea is doing it every month with the shows that have opened or are about to open in that period of time. I won’t write about all of them, I’ll just comment the ones that draw my attention. It can be 2, 5, 10… and I can always edit the post, right? So… Let’s get started!

1. Young Frankenstein

  • What is it about? Grandson of the infamous Victor Frankenstein, Dr. Frederick Frankenstein (pronounced ‘Fronk-en-steen’) inherits a castle in Transylvania leading him to fulfill his grandfather’s legacy by bringing a corpse back to life. With help and hindrance from hunchback henchman Igor, buxom assistant Inga and needy fiancee Elizabeth, his experiment yields madcap success and monstrous consequences.
  • Where and when? Mel Brooks brings this musical comedy to the West End. Playing at the Garrick Theatre until September 2018.
  • Why I want to see it? I’m so curious about it, I love musicals and Dianne Pilkington is in it.

2. Oslo

  • What is it about? Oslo tells the true story of two maverick Norwegian diplomats Terje Rød-Larsen, (Toby Stephens – Black Sails, Private Lives) and Mona Juul, (Lydia Leonard – Wolf Hall, Life in Squares) planned and orchestrated top-secret, high-level meetings between the State of Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organisation, which culminated in the signing of the historic 1993 Oslo Accords.
  • Where and when? After its run in the National Theatre, now it transferred to the Harold Pinter. Playing until 30th December 2017.
  • Why I want to see it? I’ve heard very good opinions about it and I’m a big fan of the plays from the National.

3. Venus in fur

  • What is it about?  Enigmatic actress Vanda Jordan appears unannounced for an audition with director Thomas Novachek. She’s determined to land the leading role in his new production – despite seeming wrong for the part. Over one evening in downtown Manhattan their charged meeting becomes a seductive dance to the end.
  • Where and when? The show is in the Theatre Royal Hymarket until the 9th of December.
  • Why I want to see it? I’ve seen the show in Spain (Barcelona) about 3 years ago and I loved it! I like to see the same show in different countries to see they way that’s played in each one.

4. The exorcist

  • What is it about? When the medical profession fails to provide answers to young Regan’s strange symptoms, her desperate mother Chris turns to a local priest for help. But before Father Damien can tackle what’s before him, he must overcome his own shaken beliefs, as this fight is for more than just one girl’s soul… 
  • Where and when? The performances started the of 20th October at the Phoenix Theatre and it’s on until the 10th March 2018.
  • Why I want to see it? I’ve never been a big fan of the horror films but lately I’ve been watching stuff that it didn’t used to be my first choice (like action or science fiction films) and I’ve loved it! So I want to try that…

5. Romantics anonymous

  • What is it about? Angélique makes beautiful chocolates, carefully infused with all the emotion that seems to overwhelm her in daily life. Jean-René runs a chocolate factory that is running out of steam, rather like his own existence. Both seek help from the usual sources: Jean-René favours self-help tapes and Angélique joins a support group, Les Émotifs Anonymes.
  • Where and when? It also started on Friday the 20th and runs until the 6th January 2018 at the Shakespeare Globe.
  • Why I want to see it? As I said I love musicals, I’ve never been in The Globe before (yes, I know it’s unforgivable but I’ll fix that) and Joanna Riding is in it… So I have plenty of reasons to go!

6. Beginning

  • What is it about? Every story starts somewhere. It’s the early hours of the morning and Danny’s the last straggler at Laura’s party. The flat’s in a mess. And so are they. One more drink?
  • Where and when? Until the 14 November at the National Theatre.
  • Why I want to see it? I’ve seen very good reviews and I love almost everything of the National. I hope not to miss it…

The synopsis of the shows in italics are taken from the official websites from each one


(It might be available in Spanish soon)


Montse Carrasco

Deja un comentario